When You Just Know You’ve Failed

So, NaNoWriMo is a week old. In seven days I’ve written over 25,000 words. I am past half-way to the target number…

So why is it I’m thinking about dumping this thing and doing something else?

Well, when it comes down to it, I know I’m not going anywhere with this novel. I like most of the characters, and the initial set-up isn’t bad (though I do feel like I’m re-writing Stargate at times). But I’m just not feeling the right amount of empathy for the way the story is unfolding, and I don’t like the plot. I think changing the plot enough to make it interesting is going to make it too derivative. Right now I’m having bright ideas about Aneka’s fifth novel, and I’m continuing with the NaNo project out of perverse bloody-mindedness.

So, this weekend I’m going to finish editing book 3 for the proof reader (for some reason I wrote ‘proof raider’ there; though I could possibly see Kate in a hat and whip…), I’ll get some plot work done on book 5, and I’ll see what I think about  my NoNo project. If I drop it I could probably still get 50k written about Aneka before the end of the month…

2 responses to “When You Just Know You’ve Failed

  1. *hugs* I know they say about the week two NaNoblues, but you’ve got 13 T101 books, 2 T101 short story collections and 4 Steel books to your name. You’ve also got 25k words down, so you have the time to set it aside, do something else and come back to take a look at it.

    I’m happy with my project at the moment, yes there are lots of edits that will be needed, but I’m happy to continue on with it. If your gut instinct is telling you these things, take the time to refocus. And when it comes to NaNo, better to want to write something else than not wanting to write at all.

    • To be fair, this isn’t week 2 blues. I wasn’t sure about this storyline before I started it.
      I think I’ll probably drop it and try again later, with extra dank, dripping walls and spooky music.
      I can still bang out most of book 5 before the end of the month. :p

Leave a Reply

